italian: casa della pasta (義麵坊)

date october 15, 2011

contact No. 218, Sec. 2, Jinshan S. Rd., Daan District, Taipei City/台北市大安區金山南路二段218號/02.3393.2518

hours 7 days a week [lunch] 12:00-14:00 [dinner] 18:00-22:00

price <300NT (+10% service charge; 150NT per person minimum)

rating ♥♥ (3 out of 5 hearts)

nearest mrt Guting MRT (捷運古亭站)

website http://www.capasta.com.tw (Chinese and English Only)

I’ve been eating a lot of Italian lately…

Ron called me for dinner and said he wanted pasta. I don’t know of a lot of pasta places around Guting, but Ron had passed by Casa Della Pasta on Jinshan Rd. (金山路) near Shida (師大) so we decided to try it out.

Casa Della Pasta (Shida Store) is located right next door to Roxy 99 and Twiice Night Club (formerly 9%). According to their business card they have 4 locations in Taipei.

On a Saturday night at 8pm the restaurant was pretty full, but we didn’t need a reservation for two and were immediately seated. The inside of Casa Della Pasta is pretty nice: pretty cute and homey, nice place for a date maybe. There is a large window at the back of the restaurant into the kitchen so you can see what’s going on. They also have some Halloween/fall decorations up to add some festive zest.

The menu has a lot of variety. I saw pizza, salad, risotto, gnocchi, and other mains in addition to the long list of pasta. All of their pastas come with the choice of spaghetti (細麵) or penne (管麵). You can also make your meal a set meal for an extra 90NT. I think the set meal come with salad and a drink, but I’m not sure; Ron and I both chose to just order a la carte. I asked the waitress for a recommendation and she suggested the Smoked Salmon with Cream Sauce (煙燻鮭魚奶油麵) for 155NT, which she noted is their signature dish. Ron and I both decided to try it.

I liked this dish. The cream sauce was pretty light and they weren’t heavy handed with it, which I liked. The sauce had a nice garlicy taste to it, but wasn’t overpowering. The smoked salmon cooks a little while on the hot pasta. The waitress told us when ordering this that the salmon would not be cooked all the way, which to me was a given, but nice to be warned just in case. The pasta was cooked well; a nice al dente. I’m pretty sure both the pasta and smoked salmon are not made in house. The pasta didn’t taste like it was freshly made and for 155NT I doubt it is. There was also a small piece of french bread and shredded parmesan that accompanied the pasta. Overall, pretty tasty. I’d get it again.

For the price this place isn’t bad. I’m curious about their meat sauce because that’s usually what ends up being most disappointing at Italian restaurants in Taiwan. The service was good and one of the waiters speaks very good English for those who don’t really speak Mandarin.

In comparison with Luna D’Italia and Papa Gio’ this place is less authentic and less fancy, but the price reflects that. I’d say the average meal at Casa Della Pasta only costs around 300NT if you decide to get the set meal, cheaper if you order a la carte like we did. Would I come back here? Yeah, I’d give it another go. Was it super spectacular? Not really, but it’s good enough.

Leave a Reply

