updated/thai: sawasdee

date March 18, 2011
contact No. 10, Alley 4, Lane 286, Sec. 3, Roosevelt Road, Daan District, Taipei City/台北市大安區羅斯福路三段286巷4弄10號/02-2368-4300
hours 7 days a week [lunch]11:30-14:00/[dinner]17:00-21:00
price <NT300
rating ♥♥♥♥♥ (5 out of 5 hearts)
nearest mrt Gongguan MRT (公館捷運站)

Read my original review of Sawasdee.

I went to Sawasdee on a Friday night after work. Got there around 7:15pm and it was full as usual. Luckily I grabbed a table right as a couple left, so I didn’t have to wait.

I mostly just wanted to update this post because I got a picture of their signature fried chicken with sweet pepper sauce rice meal (招牌椒麻雞飯).

For 110NT if you order the meal you get the chicken, rice, soup, steamed egg, and some stir fried veggies (carrots, cauliflower, bok choy, and cabage). As usually all the sides were delicious. Steamed egg was good, soup was flavorful, and the veggies were well seasoned and not overcooked. The chicken was delicious. The batter on the chicken is not very thick; I think it might just be flour and egg. I really love the raw shredded cabbage under the chicken. Let it sit for a while under the hot chicken to warm up and soak up the sauce. The sweet pepper sauce is seriously delicious. It has a pretty good balance of sweet, garlic, chili pepper, and vinegar taste. It’s not too spicy for those sensitive to spice; the kick is pretty light in my opinion, however if you are particularly sensitive to spicy things (for example if you get things small spicy [小辣] or mini spicy [微辣] and think it’s still spicy) I’d maybe stay away. I literally left no sauce on the plate. It tastes great on the chicken and great on the rice. Really I just wanted to share this. Too good not to. Plus for the ridiculously great price of 110NT, this place never disappoints.

4 thoughts on “updated/thai: sawasdee”

  1. Outstanding find! I went here for lunch today and ordered 紅咖哩 (NTD 140). Well that is what I said, but I know it’s something different on the menu.

    This is among the most authentic Thai food I’ve had outside of Thailand. I guess it helps that everyone who works there is Thai. The Thai tea is really good too!

    P.S. Have you tried the 新疆 restaurant just next door?

    Like

    1. so glad you liked it! it’s definitely one of my favorite places for thai food outside of thailand, lol.

      i haven’t tried the place next door. i always feel like i should, but i always end up at sawasdee instead. let me know if it’s worth a go if you try it out.

      Like

  2. I’ve been there three times actually. It is quite good for Xinjiang food (which I believe is difficult to find in Taipei). Just stop in some time, the 老闆 is really friendly!

    Looking forward to more reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

