bakery/dessert: pozzo bakery

date February 12, 2011

contact 1F, No. 172, Sec. 4, Zhongxiao East Road, Taipei City/台北市忠孝東路四段172號1F/02.2772.2121

hours 7 days a week 07:00-22:00

rating ♥♥♥♥ (5 out of 5 hearts)

website http://www.sanwant.com/en/3-0.htm

nearest mrt Zhongxiao Dunhua MRT (忠孝敦化捷運站)

For my birthday, my friend bought me a cake. I love cheesecake and that is what she decided to buy me from Pozzo Bakery located on the first floor of the San Want Hotel (神旺大飯店).

I’ve tried a lot of cheesecake in Taiwan and I must say, this was the best. I don’t really like super sweet cheesecakes like the ones they have at The Cheesecake Factory. While they’re good, I feel like all the extras drown out the cheese flavor and just make an already rich “cake” richer. This green tea cheese cake was really creamy and not at all too sweet. To me, it was the perfect sweetness. The green tea flavor was really only in the green swirl on the top, which was fine with me. It added subtle hints of green tea versus having the entire “cake” be green tea flavored. The crust was tasty, not graham cracker, but I’m actually not a huge fan of graham cracker crusts. It was crumbly and tasted kind of like pie crust, just not solid like pie crust, if that makes sense. Also, the crust had a thin layer of mochi with red bean, which was a nice surprise. Only complaint would be the weird clear gelatin layer on top of the cheesecake. I notice that they do that to a lot of cakes in Taiwan, and I’m not sure why, but I’m not a fan. Luckily, it’s easy to take off if you don’t want to eat it, which is what I did.

Overall, for cheesecake fans I highly suggest trying this. I read on the website that they recommend their pear cheesecake, so I might have to try that, too.

Leave a Reply

