tartine bakery.

date 11.09.08

contact 600 Guerrero St (between 18th St & 19th St)/San Francisco, CA 94110/415.487.2600

hours Mon 8:00 a.m.-7:00 p.m./Tue-Wed 7:30 a.m.-7:00 p.m./Thu-Fri 7:30 a.m.-8:00 p.m./Sat 8:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m./Sun 9:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.

price <$10 (for small tarts and slices of cakes)

www.tartinebakery.com/

Ashley had sent me a link to Tartine a while ago, saying she had to go there when she came up to visit me. Looking at the site, and knowing my love of desserts, I assured her I’d find out where it was and take her there. After getting lost for like 30 minutes, we arrived at Tartine. Parking was not easy to find, we had to park a few blocks away, but it was pretty worth it. Tartine is a small bakery/cafe on the corner of Guerrero and 18th Street in the Mission. Upon entering I was immediately drawn to the display of cakes, tarts, and all other things tasty. It took me a long time to decide what I wanted, but eventually I decided on the Coconut Cream Tart ($6.25).

The display of cakes, tarts, and such at Tartine.
The display of cakes, tarts, and such at Tartine.

My decision to get the Coconut Cream Tart came about when I asked one of the workers the oh so hated question of, “What is your favorite?” and “What would you recommend?”. As someone who has worked in food service for almost 8 years, I know that question can get tired, but I really wasn’t sure what I should get. The worker was very nice and recommended a few different things to satisfy different cravings. Ultimately the Coconut Cream Tart sounded like what I was looking for. Lined with dark chocolate and caramel then filled with a light and creamy coconut cream topped with shavings of toasted coconut with a light sprinkling of powdered sugar, this tart hit the spot. I was a little afraid that it would be too sweet, but it wasn’t. It was the perfect sweetness with the perfect creaminess. I think my only complaint would be that the chocolate lining was so hard that it made the tart a little hard to eat. I felt like I had to stab with force my fork into the crust in order to get a bite. But that was my only complaint. Creamy filling. Flaky crust. Tasty goodness.

My Coconut Cream Tart.
My Coconut Cream Tart.

Dan ordered the Frangipane Tart ($6.00). I have no idea what frangipane means, but this tart was pretty good. Filled with almond cream and topped with seasonal fruit, toasted almonds, and powdered sugar, this tart is pretty light in flavor. We asked what the seasonal fruit was and was told it was huckleberry. I don’t know what huckleberry is and I’m not sure what it’s supposed to taste like, but it was a good topping. The “almond cream” filling though was misleading. When I heard cream I thought it was going to be kind of like my coconut cream, like a custard, but it was more like an almond paste to me. I actually was pleasantly surprised by that. I think I liked my Coconut Cream Tart better, but if you wanted something non-creamy, this is a good choice.

Dans Frangipane Tart.
Dan's Frangipane Tart.

Ashley got a lemon bar, which was pretty good, a little too tart, but still decent and bread pudding. I thought the bread pudding was kind of dry, but then again, I’m not a huge bread pudding fan. One of her friends got some ginger bread thing, but didn’t like it. Overall I thought this place was pretty good. I’d go back to try some of the other things they had.

Leave a Reply

